Clarisonic Mia 2 – First Impressions, and a Very Merry Christmas!

First of all, I hope you all had an amazing Christmas and Santa was very good to you! I love Christmas, it’s my favourite time of year, I adore watching my family open their gifts, sitting round the table and stuffing ourselves silly with delicious Christmassy food, and I even look forward to the inevitable falling asleep on the sofa in front of some festive TV or film! (This years nod-off fare was Wreck-It-Ralph – such a good film!)

I only asked for two things this year, and only thought I might possibly get one or the other! Those things were a No! No! hair removal device, and a Clarisonic, as I, like many, have a little bit of peach fuzz facial hair (which is quite unfortunate when your foundation turns it orange and very noticeable!), and frankly, I am obsessive over skincare and am always on the lookout for ways to improve my current routine!

Lucky lass that I am, I received both on the big day, and more beautiful gifts besides!

I couldn’t wait to try it out, and as I know it takes a good few weeks of use to show any major difference, I thought I might do a “First Impressions” post to give you all an idea of what it’s like. I used it last night and this morning with the cleanser that comes with the system, and I am currently very impressed!

20140107-185055.jpg

The cleanser that you get given free foams quite a bit, which I personally love as I feel like a foamy cleanser is something that you can actually see doing its job, however if you don’t love foam as much as me, it works with absolutely any cleanser. The little machine itself is very techy-looking and smart, but isn’t intimidating which is nice! My system is the Mia 2, which, unlike the other Clarisonics on the market has two speeds – including a faster one for an especially deep clean. It also comes with a “sensitive” head which is intended to be gentler on more temperamental and sensitive skin. I’ve started with the normal head, and I’ll just see how my skin reacts to regular use. If needs be, I’ll move on to the sensitive head.

20140107-185144.jpg

I’ve read that there is a significant purging period that happens with every cleansing brush system, which is when the skin starts to kick out all the gunk thats chillaxing deep in your pores, which I cant say I’m looking forward to, but oh well. I know it’ll be worth it in the end! Roll with the punches, as they say. I’ve been using toner and moisturiser after each use, including a day cream and a night cream, but I might need to switch to something a little richer for the day as my skin was a little bit dry this morning. I feel like Steam Cream might be a bit better over the chilly winter months!

So far I haven’t seen a difference as far as blemishes go, but every time I use it, I can tell an instant difference in the cleanliness and tone of my skin. I just whip off my makeup before I use it, follow the instructions for use, and in a minute flat I have lovely, clean, glowy skin. It also has a very handy timer for each section of your face which makes a noise to alert you to move on to a different bit so you don’t end up eroding half your face off!

20140107-185240.jpg

In all, it is a really lovely skincare tool and a welcome addition to my routine. I’ll stick up a full review after I’ve used it a bit longer!

(DISCLAIMER: As far as I am aware, no Clarisonic has ever eroded someones face off!)

Have a big glass of something exceptionally alcoholic and a bowl of something delicious for me guys!
All my love and festive cuddles, now and always,
Merry Christmas.
Pebblebee xoxo

Leave a Reply

