Illamasqua Lipstick in Shard

Oh my crikey, I had been lusting after this lipstick for SO LONG, but having paid out over £12,000 for my postgraduate course it was one of those “must wait till payday” purchases that I then agonised over until approximately 5 minutes past midnight, when it was officially PAYDAY. How sad is that? (Actually, don’t answer, I don’t need to know…)

Anyway, without further ado, here it is! (I apologise for the battered packaging – I’ve been crazy busy since this arrived going down to London and all sorts, so it’s been toted round a fair bit and worn a lot of times before I actually had the time to blog about it!)

20131007-205629.jpg

20131007-205653.jpg

20131007-205712.jpg

I normally love illamasqua, but DAMN I love this lipstick even more than I thought I might! This little beauty is from the Sacred Hour collection, and is intended to remind the wearer of the dusk hours just before the night starts to close in. It looks really dark in the bullet, but please, please don’t let that put you off! It is the perfect mulled-wine, mulberry-stained colour for autumn and I can safely say it was worth the wait!

Here’s how it swatches…

20131007-205955.jpg
It strikes me as being a warm-toned purple, but I honestly think any skin tone could carry this off – even my corpse-like complexion manages it! Seriously though, it looks spectacular on pale skin, medium skin, and on black skin too – I’d suggest wearing it with a gloss if you’re darker skinned as the matte texture may not look quite right, as it would with brighter, higher contrasting colour lipsticks!

As with a lot of Illamasqua’s lipsticks, this is VERY matte, with a velveteen finish. I personally love it, but I know some people can find the formula a little drying. Beat this by using a lip scrub and balm before application – it gets rid of dry skin and any chapped bits, meaning that the lipstick won’t collect in your problem areas, and also the use of a balm underneath lipstick limits dragging upon application (if you’re applying straight from the bullet).

And, just in case you’re wondering, here’s how it looks on me…

20131007-210509.jpg
Please excuse the mega cheesy photo (and also if you’re a fan of jangly indie-rock go check out Jaws, the band on the vinyl I’m so lovingly holding), but this is how it looked after almost a full night of drinking, eating and singing along to the Twang. This lipstick is MEGA long wearing, and fades off to a stain, as shown on my Instagram (follow me at avegaseffect if you want to see my daily photo diary of food, cocktails, makeup and narcissism) so minimal top ups are needed despite it being such a deep colour. I would recommend using a lip liner though to prevent bleeding – I use a purple one from MAC, no idea what it’s called, the lettering has rubbed off, sorry!

Like pretty much every lipstick I own, I apply this VERY heavily, however if you use a lip brush you can tone the colour down easily to more of a wine-stain shade rather than an all out burgundy, if you prefer!

All in all, this is a gorgeous, versatile shade, and is probably going to live in my bag for the rest of A/W!

Do you have any of the Sacred Hour collection? And will you be buying anything from the #Creators collection that launches tomorrow? I’m like a kid at Christmas whenever they come up with a new campaign!

Peace and love always,

Pebblebee xoxo

6 thoughts on “Illamasqua Lipstick in Shard

  1. Ohhh I WANT IT. I’m gonna order it, it’s exactly the mix between burgundy and purple I’m after. Thanks so much for the review, even if it has meant I now have to spend money 😉

    PS: your hair colour is absolutely gorgeous!

    • You’re very welcome! It’s always nice to know my posts have helped someone out (or rinsed their bank account!). I have literally worn it every single day since I got it, it’s such a perfect autumn colour. Illamasqua have really outdone themselves with this one!

      By the way, have you tried their lipsticks Sangers or Eurydice? Sangers is a true red that I think would look amazing on your skintone, and Eurydice is a bright pink that is edgy without being too Barbie!

      Oh, thank you so much! I only go to a little local salon but my hairdresser custom mixes it for me 🙂 believe it or not, I’m a natural blonde! You’ve made my night! Have a lovely evening, and if there’s ever anything else you want me to review please let me know! xoxo

      • Aw I know the feeling, I love it when people actually find posts helpful 🙂
        I’m glad I’ve waited now and not just bought any old burgundy lipstick because this looks perfect.
        No! I really want so many of their lipsticks though. Will be googling those shades, I’m always after a pink that isn’t barbie-esque, especially with my hair colour.
        Jealous you’re a natural blonde haha but the dye is lovely! It suits your skin tone so well. You’re welcome, glad I made your night, thanks for letting me know you posted the review x

  2. Doom. I’ve been looking online at Shard for months now, and telling myself somewhat sternly that I do NOT need it.
    BUT I might as well face facts: I’m weak, very weak.
    This review, combined with the knowledge that there’s 15% off from Illamasqua this weekend, has completely dissolved any pathetic residue of so-called “willpower” that I possess.
    Shard is coming to live with me!
    I figure, if I’m going to hate myself, I might as well do so for loving a gorgeous lipstick, than for passing up the chance to get it [at a discount].
    Sigh …

Leave a Reply

