They See Me Haulin’… Part Two!

Next on my journey was TK Maxx… Dangerous at the best of times for a cosmetaholic like me! But saying that, I managed to pick up some gorgeous gifts for family and friends (and a couple of treats for myself, oops!). Please excuse the horrible white price labels on some of the items, I intend to steam them off before giving them as gifts!

20130929-010847.jpg

First thing that caught my eye was this Korres Body Milk – I am already a huge fan of Korres for their lipbalms and natural ingredients, and I had never used a body milk before so naturally I was intrigued. On the tube it says “Vanilla and Plum” however, unlike the lipbalms, the scent smelled a lot less like the ingredients – although there was a hint of vanilla, the plum didn’t come through at all. It wasn’t an unpleasant smell, it’s actually quite addictive and since I have used it I’ve had people stop me to ask what perfume I’m wearing – when I explain to them it’s a body lotion they’re quite surprised! It’s very moisturising and sinks in quickly, two big ticks for me in terms of what I want from a body moisturiser, and at £5.99 it was a pretty good buy. I don’t think I would repurchase at its RRP of £10 as the scent is not the most compelling I have come across, however, it’s still a nice moisturiser.

20130929-012104.jpg

I was completely dumbfounded and awestruck to see Ciaté sets on the stand in TK Maxx, OPI and Nails Inc are relatively commonplace on the shelves, but as I had only been eyeing this set up in John Lewis the week before, I was pretty shocked to see it standing proud on a display case! I snapped it up really quickly of course, I LOVE the interesting textures and innovative ideas Ciaté come up with, and I had been lusting after the foil mani set for quite some time – perfect for party season! Plus, it was £9.99, down from the RRP of £18, so I was feeling pretty pleased with myself.

20130929-012709.jpg

I tend to do a few laps around the beauty section of TK Maxx, just to make sure I don’t miss anything (that’s actuality quite sad, isn’t it), but I’m glad I did! Tucked behind a display of makeup bags was this little gem, again, Ciaté, again, £9.99 down from RRP £18! This will make a lovely gift for a friend of mine who is an avid Instagram nail-art follower!

20130929-013418.jpg

We all have that friend, don’t we? The one that’s so girly and adorable that Disney Princesses could take lessons from her? I saw this in TK Maxx and instantly thought of her. She loves all things pink, and all things glitter, but as much as I champion OPI, her current financial situation is difficult, and it’s one of those things she lusts after but confines to the wish list. I can’t wait to see the look on her face when she opens it – she adores Minnie Mouse as well, it couldn’t have been more perfect for her. This was the same price as the Ciaté sets!

20130929-014023.jpg

These little beauties are from the liquid sand collection which are so packed with glitter Louie Spence would probably keel over faced with the full force of their sparkle. These are going to my sister – she used to bite her nails as an anxious habit, and has finally quit – her nails look gorgeous now so she may as well adorn them with something pretty! In addition to that, she lives in a house with 4 boys – my nephews Luke Jordan and Liam, and my brother in law Matt. She’s outnumbered by dirty socks, XBox games and other boy type stuff, so I like to give her things to help her feel glamorous when the festive season rolls around.

20130929-014607.jpg

TK had quite a lot of Bayliss and Harding gift sets, all of which were lovely, however, I chose this one for my grandma. Despite having had two operations on her feet in the past two years, she still insists on walking her standard poodle, Louie, for miles every day – I would do it for her, except I live over two hours away. Anyway, I think that after all they go through, her poor feet need a bit of pampering, plus I love the idea of my nan being able to curl up by her fire with her Mills and Boon book, a cup of tea, and a comfy pair of fluffy socks. This should have been £8, but came in at £4.99. I think it’s a lovely little gift!

20130929-015345.jpg

This is the most expensive thing from that day, which is quite depressing, but anyone who knows me will know how paranoid I am about skin aging. I religiously wear a tinted moisturiser with SPF under my foundation, and my normal skincare regime includes scrub, cleanse, tone, moisturise, eye cream, lip cream, serum in winter and a neck cream too. Plus a face mask twice a week. Yes, I’m obsessed. I live by using oil on my hair, but I’d never considered using it on my skin! I had a sample of this once, and being a big fan of ThisWorks anyway, loved it. I really struggle to justify spending the RRP of over £30 on it, but I can roll with £14. I’ll review it soon, promise!

20130929-020626.jpg

When I saw the iconic, opulent packaging, my breath caught in my throat. I thought, no, surely not it has to be a different brand with lawsuit-inducingly similar wrapping. But no, no, as I approached I felt an overwhelming sense of joy as I saw the gold embossed lettering – MOR. This is my ultimate luxury brand. This is the brand I pore over and sniff in Space NK till the shop assistants start asking if I need any help, as I’m liable to grab them and scream ILL TAKE ALL OF THEM. The fact is, I can’t afford this gorgeous, gorgeous brand. That is, until now. I’m not going to lie, I went slightly mad, as you’ll see. This hand cream is scented “Snow Gardenia” and is the most delicate, feminine floral fragrance I have ever smelled. I’m loathe to be parted from it, however, come Christmas it will be winging its way to my boyfriends Grandma Elisabeth, who is the most glamorous 70 year old I know. This should have been £25 RRP, instead, I snapped it up at the astounding price of £6.99.

20130929-022255.jpg

This baby is DEFINITELY staying with me. Three words. Candied. Vanilla. Almond. It was officially love at first sniff. This one was RRP £20, down to £5.99. And oh my god, the consistency of this hand cream is astounding. It comes out of the tube almost like buttercream icing from a piping bag and melts into your skin so quickly. I understand the hype. I even (sort of) understand the extortionate price tag. Oh TK Maxx, how I love thee.

20130929-023154.jpg

I’m sorry but HOW PRETTY IS THIS BOX? Complete with a little ribbon and a wax seal, it’s so beautiful it’d be a shame to open it! This is a body butter from the MOR range, and, if you can see it printed on the ribbon, the scent is “Lychee Flower”. This one is going off as a gift for the fella’s mum, so sadly I can’t open it for a sniff, but it sounds gorgeous. They aren’t very big, but a little goes a VERY long way, so they last for ages and the scent lingers. I bought my own mum one once for Mother’s Day, and I kept catching hints of rose all day. This should have been £30, but I got it for £6.99.

ALMOST DONE, I SWEAR

20130929-023857.jpg

I couldn’t believe my luck when I found another body butter nestled behind some Aloe Vera products, and it was the same scent as my hand cream (see above). I’m finally going to fulfil my life’s ambition of permanently smelling like baking! This, like the other body butter, came in at £6.99 down from £30 RRP.

If you’ve stuck with me this long, well done! Get yourself a brew and a biscuit and maybe have a nap! But, before you go, I want to use this opportunity to show you all just how much TK Maxx can actually save you if you know what you’re looking for.

If I had bought all of these items at their RRP, the cost of this shopping would have been £225. I know, right?! That’s one hell of a lot of money.

BUT

With the reduced TK prices, it cost me £91.90, and then I got an extra 20% off with a voucher code! leaving my overall total at £73.70. Sounds a bit better than the first total, doesn’t it!

Hope you all have a lovely weekend (I’m currently recovering from a pretty nasty car accident, so doing anything fun for me right now is out of the question!)

What do you think to my little spending spree? Have you started Christmas shopping yet or is the word still banned in your household?

Love always,

Pebblebee xoxo

Leave a Reply

