Nailing the Issue…

My name is Pebblebee and I am a nail biter. There – I said it.

I’ve bitten my nails since I was little, and I’m now 20. This is why I never post swatches or my nails on here as a lot of other (super-gorgeous, and perfectly manicured) bloggers seem to do. It’s embarrassing, and it doesn’t just stop at the nails. Oh no. I even bite the skin, so around my nails there is just a weepy red mess. It’s horrible.

I came very close to breaking the habit last year, I managed to completely stop biting them for two months, they grew beautifully and I finally had nails to be proud of, and then I was admitted into hospital for major surgery. I went to all my consultations and to combat the nervous urge to bite I rubbed cuticle cream into my nails. But on the operation date, while sat in my hospital room in one of those horrible backless surgery gowns waiting to be taken down and anaesthetised, I bit all of them. I was so nervous, and biting my nails had the same therapeutic effect as lighting a cigarette and lifting it to my mouth would have.

But in 2013 everything is getting better. I’m finishing my degree, I’ve been with my boyfriend for 2 years and he’s showing no signs of going anywhere – we’re very happy, I have the two most supportive parents anyone could hope to have, and a puppy who is the love of my life. I have my job, my health and my happiness. SO WHY THE HELL CAN’T I GROW MY NAILS?

Who wants to be the girl who has manky hands?

Well I’m going to do something about it. I’m going to book an appointment at a salon on Monday, and I’m going to get some gel tips. I shouldn’t be able to bite through those, and so it will give my natural nails a chance to grow. Once they get back to the state I had them before my op, I’ll not want to bite them. I’ll be proud of them.

I want to be able to get minxed. I want to be able to stress about chipping a nail. I want to be able to say “wow I need to get my nails done I’ve got a wedding/holiday/enter celebration here coming up”.

With your support and love, Nail Biters Anonymous, I think I can do it.

Love always,
Pebblebee XO

Leave a Reply

