My MAC top 10

I am a self-confessed MAC addict, and so I thought it was about time that I did a review of my top 10 favourite products… Fasten your seatbelts world, here we go, in no particular order…

1. Strobe Cream (£22.50)

20130207-152747.jpg
This is one of my everyday-use products. It is also multi-use which is fantastic, it can be used solo for a glowy sheen on naked skin or over makeup as a highlighter, and isn’t oily at all. I personally prefer to have matte skin and just choose where to highlight, so I use this on cheekbones, browbones, along the centre of my nose and a little along my jaw (I have quite a strong jaw shape so I like to soften it). I have also used it mixed with powdery eye shadows for a wet-look effect which looks really ethereal and pretty. A little goes a long way, you only need a dab to do both cheekbones and brows. I’d definitely recommend this, it’s cost effective and really brightens and freshens up your makeup, even if its been on all day.

2. Lipstick in Dark Side (£14)

20130207-153701.jpg
This is only a recent purchase but easily one of my favourites of the moment. At the moment I am completely addicted to dark, rich, wine and berry shades, I don’t know whether it’s all the cold weather and snow we’ve been having lately or what! I tend to wear this glossy with plushglass in Oversexed, which tastes and smells really nice (I know you’re not meant to eat it but still!). The glossiness of it, especially if you highlight and use minimal eye makeup, stops it looking too scary.

3. Haute and Naughty Mascara (£18)

20130207-154455.jpg
Now I much prefer the Haute side of this mascara for day, but tell me who’s naughty side doesn’t come out at night? I love the fact that there are two different wands for this product – the smaller pink wand is Haute, which is perfect for 60s style lashes in the day, and the larger glittery purple wand is the Naughty one, which is much thicker (you can’t really tell in the pictures) and really loads the product onto your lashes. Only thing with the latter is you need to have a specific technique otherwise it’ll clump – hold the brush at the base of your lashes and wiggle it to the ends in a zig-zag motion and it is less likely to clump. (I know I’m probably preaching to the choir here but hey!) just add more if you want it!

4. Cremeblend Blush in Posey (£17.50)

20130207-155440.jpg
I LOVE the cremeblend blushes in MAC, however I do find the colours a little limited. I do however love this one, having pale pink-toned skin darker, dusky pinks really suit me. I find that pickier shades as opposed to corals and reds really emphasise the eyes too! Reds can actually have the opposite effect, making the skin look tired, whereas this shade gives a “walk in the country on a cold day” glow.

5. Pro Longwer Concealer in NC20 (£14.50)

20130207-160138.jpg
Now I really struggle with MAC foundations as have many other people in reviews, it seems its something you either love or hate! But I have to say that although the MAC foundations make me break out, the formula of the concealer is far kinder to the skin. It’s excellent coverage and as he name suggests, stays on forever.

6. Prep and Prime Transparent Pressed Powder (£19.50)

20130207-160804.jpg
This is my make up bag ESSENTIAL. This powder is good for all skin tones due to being transparent, the white block looks a little scary at first but you don’t see it once its on your skin. It’s the best mattifying powder I have ever used. Buy it!

7. Fluidline in Rich Ground (£14)

20130207-161304.jpg
I bought this upon a recommendation from a friend who uses the MAC gel liner, and oh my god they are incredible! I ordered this as an alternative from my everyday black, and I’m so glad I did! Glides on like a dream and stays put over primer. Definitely a makeup bag staple now!

8. Fabulousness Winter 2012 Bronzing Palette (no longer available)

20130208-104159.jpg
I got this along with the purple and brown eye palettes for Christmas this year from my parents, and I’ve never loved a MAC collection quite as much! Not only does it come in the most stunning packaging I’ve ever seen in a product, it has two lip colours which are beautifully pigmented (my favourite is the grape shade, I’ve yet to find the perfect dupe), the browser is the perfect colour to contour without making me look like I need a wash (a problem I suffer with in terms of any bronzing product), and the eye shadows are sumptuous, plush colours as well as being highly pigmented. The occasional eyeshadow in these sets had a fair bit of glitter in them, however it gave a subtle shimmer rather than full on disco-ball eyes, which I really liked. If I wasn’t dreading the day that this palette runs out, I would use it every day without fail. My all time favourite product to ever come from MAC’s beauty brains.

9. Lipstick in Cockney (£14)

20130208-105013.jpg
This was my first foray into the world of red lipstick, and it’s definitely one for the colour shy to start off with! I had a very specific requirement when I went for my first red, I wanted it to look “done” and noticeable, without looking hookerish or like the joker, which is a common fear of colour-phobes. The assistant recommended this shade, and I’m glad she did. I bought this when I was 16 years old, and have been wearing red lipstick virtually every day since. The formula goes on sheer, and allows for buildable colour, so you could have the option to wear it as a stain, or a block colour if you decide to be brave and go for it! My default red is now Chanel Rouge Coco in Gabrielle, however this will always hold a special place in my heart.

10. Lipstick in Spitfire (from the Wonder Woman collection, no longer available)

20130208-105924.jpg
This was one of those colours that you’re secretly quite scared to wear, but crikey it makes a statement! The formula of this is super-moisturising, even more so than most MAC lipsticks, and the colour is so bright it’s likely to distract air traffic. It’s a lovely shade of purple, there really is no other way to describe it. On its own, it is a matte lipstick which personally I prefer, however, you can layer up with lipglass for a really chic, high-fashion effect. I usually save this product for evenings, and have had so many compliments from people on it! Definitely an excellent buy!

So there’s my personal top ten, I’ll be doing more top tens in the future, let me know what you’d like to see me review!

Hope you all have a lovely Friday!
Pebble XO

Leave a Reply

